Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Went back to work today...

.....and it kicked my butt ! I even have a desk job!

I was sleeved on June 27th so was off 9 days after surgery....but it was all I could do on my way home to keep driving and not pull over to the side of the road and sleep! And I only have a 20 minute commute.

Anyway, don't underestimate what major surgery and lack of food takes out of you. If you can stay home longer, do it and don't try to be a hero! My only saving grace is that tomorrow is Friday already!

Glad you made it home safely. Take it easy - and rest up this weekend.

I had surgery 6/22 and I've been off FT through today. I work in IT and my work is letting me work 4 hrs / day from home next week, then 6 hrs/day the next week from home and by then I think I should be good back in the office FT from there. It's not so much about being able to do the work, but my incisions still hurt and sitting at a desk for hours on end would be quite painful. I'm quite thrilled because I'm still trying to figure out what mushy foods I can eat. I've never been one to bring my lunch and knowing that will be a requirement going forward for at least awhile, it is going to be a huge adjustment.

I had surgery on June 30th and had to be back to work on July 5th. It was very hard returning to work. I am VERY resilient and have a very high pain tolerance, so it was all about the lack of energy for me.. I ended up leaving at noon. Then I called in sick the next day (stayed in bed the entire time). Fortunately (lol??) several people at work have been out with stomach virus so I just joined up with that group. I was finally able to make a full day of it on the next Thursday & Friday. NOBODY at work knows about the surgery.

I would have to say the ONLY way I did it was immediately go home and go to bed after work! I have spent the weekends since my surgery pretty much resting.