Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi there, I am new to TT and am anxious to participate and to see what everybody else has to say about their VSG journey. I started my journey in November of 2010 and finally had my surgery on March 16th, 2011. I had an awesome experience with everyone involved with my case. My surgeorn was Dr. Wisbach at Balboa Navy Hospital in San Diego, Ca and everyone on his team was super friendly and helpful. They helped me all along the way. I went in on Wednesday, March 16th at 11:00 am and had surgery at about 12:30 and was in recovery by 3:00 pm. My Dr. came in to see me in recovery and as groggy as I still was, he assured me that he was very pleased with the outcome. I remained in the hospital until Friday the 18th and couldn't have been happier to get rid of that stupid IV and to be in the comfort of my own home! I am very blessed and happy to report that I had a great experience with hardly any discomfort at all. I have not had to take any pain meds and have been recovering remarkably well. I have really had to concentrate on getting my 70 grams of Protein in, but it seems to get easier every day. Fortunately I haven't had an issue with nausea or vomiting. Not even once! I have been drinking Protein Shakes, (2 a day at 30 grams each) and have been sipping on chicken and beef broth that have 15 grams of protein each. So, so far not too bad. My weight on the day of surgery was 204 and honestly I have not weighed myself since. I am waiting for at least one week to go by so that I can get rid of the excess Water from all the saline and get rid of this bloating! I've been trying to walk around the house as much as I can and doing light cooking and housework, in hopes to continue toward a speedy recovery. So overall, I'd have to say I'm so glad that I had the surgery, but happy it's done and over with.