Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

"First Bite Syndrome" ???

Okay I have a fill of about 2.8 or 2.9cc's in a 4cc band. Almost every time I take my first two bites of food I get the Deer in the Headlights look because I get stuck. I know this is not a good thing. Sometimes if I take deep breaths it goes down. Weird it feels like kind of a plop when it does. On other occasions not that many it comes back up. This only happens after the first 2 bites(not all the time but frequent enough to question). DOes this mean I am overfilled. After the food either goes down or comes back up I am good to go and can finish eating. Help!!! :faint:

I'm no expert here, but speaking from experince about myself, I think smaller bites need to be taken. Try it, and good luck.

I suffered with this for about a month, and then it went away.

I don't think it's a sign of being overly tight. I think it's also referred to as "esophogeal spasms".

My solution - drink something hot first. Take a very very very small, well chewed bite. Then go do something else for 5-10 minutes, and you should be good to go.

This went away all by itself, but was annoying as H*ll while I was dealing with it!

I try well I think I am chewing good but you may be right about the smaller bites. I notice when I have an "episode" I am alot more cautious about the size and my chewing. I think I need to probably drink something warm about 30 minutes before I eat maybe it will loosen me up.

Hey Donali we were posting at the same time LOL Thanks. I am gonna do that drink something warm. My lunch breaks at work are only 30 minutes so after I warm up what I have to eat and finally sit down I have about 25 minutes to eat. I have most of my "episodes" at work on my lunch break.

Hi Diva girl!