Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

How many days off work?

Hi everybody! Im new to LBT. My surgery date is Set. 23, & Im beyond excited! I just started my job not too long ago & dont have very much sick time accumulated. What should I excpect? Will I be in a lot of pain? I've read different people's posts, some say its not bad...and other's say its the worst pain in the world. I sit at a desk all day at work, so I dont move around a whole lot.

Congratulations on taking this exciting step!

I had my surgery on a Thursday morning and was back at work on Monday with no problems at all. I did it out of town and flew home on Saturday, and even trekking through the airport, etc. was fine.

For me the pain was never very bad. I took pain meds the first two days and then was fine. My doc had me taking 4 daily 10 minute walks starting the same day as surgery, and I think that helped a lot. The only real pain I ever had was in my left shoulder - very common, but thankfully it went away completely after about 10 days.

Good luck!!!

I was only off work for a week for my surgery. Honestly, I had a harder time with my C-section than I did for my Lap band. Be sure to get Gas-X to help alleviate the gas pain that settles in your shoulders, from where they pump your belly full of gas to inflate it during surgery. A hot Water bottle and gas-X were by best friends!

Good luck!

Hi everybody! Im new to LBT. My surgery date is Set. 23, & Im beyond excited! I just started my job not too long ago & dont have very much sick time accumulated. What should I excpect? Will I be in a lot of pain? I've read different people's posts, some say its not bad...and other's say its the worst pain in the world. I sit at a desk all day at work, so I dont move around a whole lot.

Hi LovelyT,