Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Just banded on Dec. 16th

Hi. I'm new to this so any help it greatly appreciated! I just got banded on Dec. 16th and go for my post-op appt. tomorrow. I feel weird inside.... I feel real tight... kinda like having indigestion?? I know weird. Can anyone explain how they feeled after having surgery??? Thanks.

Hi, I was banded on Dec 18th and I feel as if I have a softball stuck between my ribs and just bloated beyond belief. My left shoulder hurts too. Hang in there hopefully we'll feel better next week! :tounge_smile:

Jayne

Pre-surgery 262

Surgery (12/18/08) - 253

Present (12/21/08) - 249

After my surgery I felt like something was pulling every time I moved. Almost like there was a significant weight sitting on top of my stomach. It was really about 2 1/2-3 weeks were I felt back to my norm. It was very difficult to sit in certin chairs or positions also after surgery. I hope you are recovering well. good luck.:tounge_smile:

It's probably trapped gas. Walking helps! Although fairly non-invasive, Laprascopic surgery is still major surgery. Your insides were moved around and jostled, your liver was moved, and so on. Plus you were pumped full of gas to make the surgery easier to perform. It would be odd if you DIDN"T feel odd! So don't worry, just walk, drink your Water, take the pain med your doc prescribed (either prescription or OTC as you need) and it will get better! :tounge_smile:

And of course a pillow to hold over your incisions helps brace the muscles and reduce pain when you're moving around. It helped me even when just sitting!

Yep.. I remember those days! Hang in there, try the GasX strips and walking.. we're not talking about a 5 mile marathon or anything, but rather than lying down and feeling miserable... walk around.. (and feel miserable! LOL!)