Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hello. This is my first post, so I hope I’m putting this in the correct area. Introductions: I’m Jenn. I’m 36 years old, I’ve been married to an amazing man for 18 years, I have two kids (17 & 16 y/o), I’m a NICU nurse, and I’m 5’1” and 231 lbs with a BMI of 43.6. I’ve had two knee surgeries, I have heart issues, and just got diagnosed with sleep apnea. I’ve decided to move forward with surgery and I’m a bit nervous. My insurance requires a 6 month “medically supervised” weight loss program and this month will be my last appointment with my doctor before I can get my referral to the surgeon. I have a few questions for y’all: what helped you make the decisions between VGS and a traditional bypass? Also, I’m having trouble telling my friends in fear that I will be judged- which is weird because my friends are not the type of people who judge! But I think I don’t want them to seem me in a different light I suppose. How did you overcome these fears? Thanks for the advice!

3 minutes ago, jeromysgrl said: