Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Getting protein in post-op

Hello! I’m new to BariatricPal I just joined today.

I’m 19 years old and I just got a gastric sleeve on October 17th. I’m currently post-op day 5. The first few days were really rough all I was eating was ice chips. My dietitian said in the beginning I’ll only be able to get down 1 or 2 Premier Protein shakes but so far I’ve only been able to get down half a shake and a half or 3/4 bottle of Water.< /p>

I have minimal pain but only on my right side and my stomach is pretty numb to touch by my belly button. I’m feeling good other than being tired and drained because I’m not getting enough nutrients. I’m also taking two Multi Vitamins a day along with gas and pain pills if needed.

I need some tips on just getting these shakes down. My dietitian said I can add fruits to my shakes as long as they don’t have seeds in them (I.E bananas, peaches, mangos, blueberries). After the surgery the Protein Shakes are gross to me and it’s hard for me to just sip sip sip all day on something I don’t enjoy

You have to keep trying till you find a shake you can tolerate. And by tolerate I mean it doesn't make you gag or throw up.... you don't have to LIKE it.

Then just suck it up and keep drinking it, honestly. It's medicine. Think of it that way! Tell yourself it's only a few weeks you can do anything for a few weeks!

Try it hot like hot chocolate or blend it with ice. Dilute it so it's thinner. Experiment with textures and temperatures and brands.

But most of all tell yourself it's medicine, you need it for healing and strength. This will pass!

Hot chocolateeeeeeee...makes note to self. :) Thanks @jess9395!

99% of bariatric patients seem to be able to tolerate Protein Shakes. I couldn't. I just couldn't.