Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I am just beginning to look into surgery. I can't seem to get a handle on the weight. I lose 20-30 here and there and gain more back. Lost over 100 lbs before kids, about 13 years ago, but gained it all back plus some. I feel like I'm desperate and need help now because I have so many people that depend on me. But I'm worried that it will affect me and my kids in ways that I don't know yet. Thoughts from other parents out there? Thanks for listening!

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

Hi I have just started this process about a month ago. I'm a single mom of 4 kids that need me . I'm very scared to go on being obese. I'm scared to have to surgery and not wake up. Everyone assures me I will wake up . I'm very scared I just want to be healthy for myself and for my kids. My process has gone pretty fast I only have to see the dietitian and then wait for approval

Sent from my N9132 using the BariatricPal App

Amf1025 good to hear your process has been fast. My first appt is on Feb. 8th and I haven't learned what the requirements will be before surgery. I also want to be healthy for my kids. I'm not so worried about the actual surgery but the life after. I don't want to have complications or feel sick all the time when my kids need me to be active.

Over the years I slowly became obese. It didn't bother me much being obese but then it began to affect my health. I became diabetic. My blood pressure went up and even though I was taking 2 prescription medicines, it wasn't completely under control. I experienced severe acid reflux (GERD). I had sleep apnea. All this was leading me quickly to a grave. So I had RNY gastric bypass surgery 3 1/2 years ago and I am pleased with the results. It is like hitting the reset button. So look at the decision of what would your children do if you died prematurely.