Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi. I had a lap band for five years and had it removed in May. My sleeve is scheduled for August 24, and I'm very excited. Unfortunately the timing is not ideal as I need to return to work soon after surgery. I'm a teacher. I have two in-service days the following week with no students, and then almost another week of rest. All said and done I will have to work for two days within the 14 after my surgery. My question is how people would compare or contrast the lap band surgeries to the sleeve surgery ? My own experiences with those surgeries were quite good. I did not feel a tremendous amount of pain and was up and moving relatively quickly. My biggest problem was gas, which I alleviated by walking and walking and walking. I'm starting to get very nervous about not having enough recovery time and need some reassurance if possible. Thank you.

I just had revision surgery all in one last tuesday and im going to work Monday. I feel like i could have gone to work friday. I have a desk job. I feel soreness obviously and weak from lack of nutrition but capable of working. You got this.

Sent from my iPhone using the BariatricPal App

Thank u for the support. I hope today, ur first day back, goes well!

I just had revision surgery all in one last tuesday and im going to work Monday. I feel like i could have gone to work friday. I have a desk job. I feel soreness obviously and weak from lack of nutrition but capable of working. You got this.

That's great! Who was your surgeon? Was it done as outpatient? Mine will be done as outpatient and that's why I'm asking. My wife will be asking for FML to care for me. Based on your experience, how many days should she stay with me, if at all. I don't want her to miss too much work as we need the money. Thank you so much in advance.