Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi everyone! I'm new to this. I'm 34 years old. My surgery date is July 30th. I'm feeling a little scared about it. I'm actually going through this with a close family member (she will have her surgery a few months after mine), but I still feel I need additional support. I've only told my husband and my best friend. They are also very supportive (but they don't know much about it). Any support from others who have a surgery close to July 30th?

Edited by cdesimone

I've already had my surgery on 5/27 but I'm sure there are many with upcoming dates close to yours. I was a little afraid at first too and didn't have anyone to go through the process with. You'll find great support on this site, lots of great info and advice. My RNY procedure went great im newly post op but I'm feeling good. Good luck to you!

I am scheduled for surgery June 30, and I know I'll be put on some kind of diet on the 17th. I'm ready for it! My fears stem more from complications that might occur in the future than my ability to live the new lifestyle - I've never been a risk taker, so the chance of dumping and/or not feeling good because I didn't follow my diet are very slim, especially if I go to group weekly and stick to these boards. But, yeah, hernias and other complications that may require more hospitalization or anemia and hypoglycemia that might only get harder to control in the fire and time off of work when my schedule is so busy, just praying it doesn't happen like you, I've told very few people as we