Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Another Wedding Topic-Advise Please

Hey Everyone,

There is something that has been bothering me for awhile, and it would be great to get some advise about it.

As many of you know I'm American and my husband is Portuguese. When I graduated from university I moved here to Portugal to be with him. The process for marriage here in Portugal is that everyone has to go to the court house and get married first. Then if they want a church wedding they can do it after. Hubby and I were planning a church wedding, so we went in jeans and t shirts to the court house, without our rings, with nothing, basically to sign a piece of paper to say we were married. A few weeks after that the wedding plans fell apart. Logistics where difficult because of my family in the US and his family owning a business, it seemed we couldn't find a time that every one could make it together. So we decided we didn't need a wedding. We didn't get to exchange rings, or kiss the bride, or have any pictures that we could show our future kids. I have always regretted that.

Now....next month we are moving back to Florida. We have been married 3 years this year. Our anniversary is September 6th. Our 5 year anniversary in 2009 will be on a Sunday. I was thinking that I would like to do a church wedding in the US on our 5 year anniversary. It wouldn't be a vow renewal as a lot of couples do, because we never had any vows. I would like to do a traditional ceremony in a Methodist church that my grandparents attend. I would like the dress and the cake and a photographer. Hubby's parents would probably be able to fly in at that time to attend. His brother and my sister in-law would probably be able to come too.

I'm just wondering what you all think, if it's appropriate to have a wedding after we have already been married. I don't exactly know what the etiquette procedure is for this. Any opinions on this?