Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I am sixteen years old and am about 8 months post op. All my life I have loved sports,Whatever you threw at me i would try. I was the fat kid you saw running around a soccer field, i was the one winning the backstroke race and I was number one on my high school varsity tennis team as a sophomore. I am 5'11 got down to 148, which was past my goal weight and i felt amazing. I joined another soccer team, I was not only just starting tennis season as varsity one but also as captain, and i ran my first 5k when all the sudden i bent down to pet my puppy and my knee just popped out of my socket.

I basically was told to stop all physical activity except physical therapy. This was like telling me to stop breathing. I am also a dedicated student which is extremely stressful. The way I relieved that stress was exercise. Apparently I have hypermobility in my joint which means I don't have enough muscle to hold them in place. I have had this all my life but the ironic part is that the fat was what was holding them in place and allowed me to be active. Now i am stuck for atleast 2 months doing NOTHING. I know this may seem stupid because it is not a life threatening injury and it will heal but it is the rest of my junior year which was supposed to be the one where i finally got to be the me i knew i could be.

Anyway , now i am gaining weight very quickly ( I am up to 155) and I don't know what to do because it is so hard to go back to 800 when i was up at 1300 and still losing. I feel so depressed and usually i would eat to compensate but now i have to cut my calories instead and i am having a really hard time. Sorry again for the rant, thanks for listening

-Olivia

Olivia,