Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Starting My Journey

I am just beginning my journey thinking about lapband.

I have not picked a surgeon or hospital.

I'm beginning my research here...does anyone have any suggestions?

Hi! I think there are many helpful folks on this site, but they will need a little info if you want specific info, like what city you live in... Good luck! Exciting journey!

Hi Jatinsle21! Welcome. For background, I was banded 8 days ago, and am on my third week of liquid diet, two weeks pre-op and the 8 days since. It really has not been as bad as you might think (only having liquids, that is), and I have lost 31 pounds since I started. Like many/all of us, I went initially to an informative session at my bariatric surgeon's office, I actually went to 3 different sessions at a couple practices in town. I did not know what type of procedure I was looking at when I started, but I wound up focusing on the lap band, and in my case, had it along with stomach plication or fundoplasty. I know some of the statistics favor more rapid results with the RNY gastric bypass, but to me, I could not see the major and largely non reversible alterations to my entire digestive system that RNY entails. In a pinch down the road, if anything I have had done needs to be reversed, it can be. To me, that was a big positive. The combination of the band for restriction, and the smaller stomach with the plication, seemed the perfect combination.

A week out, I have been recovering very well. A couple twinges here and there when I try to get up from the bed or a chair? Yes. But 8 days in, the pain is gone. the discomfort gone, and I am pretty much back to normal. But the journey for me is just beginning. I am still on post op liquids, so I have not entered the part where I have to figure out how much 'real' food I can eat and how I will need to eat it. That starts with 'mushies' next week!