Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi, I'm Heather. I joined this site last year, but didn't go through with everything. I'm a Kaiser patient and I'm starting the Options program on May 30. I'm excited about this journey and plan on having the surgery in mid-December. I'm a teacher, so I'll have a 3-week winter break in which to recover.

I guess this is somewhat "off-topic" but I'm so painfully depressed. I've been divorced for over 2 years now, and I feel like it was the worst mistake of my life. I wish it had never happened. I feel like I "thought" I was unhappy with my husband, but being divorced, I'm MORE unhappy than ever. I miss my ex. We are friends and even though he says "we will NEVER get back together," he loves spending time with me, cooks for me and we hang out more than he does with his current "girlfriend." There's a lot of mixed messages coming from him. I'm so depressed...I feel so low, so "black" like the whole world is a sad place to be. And I feel like I ruined my life and it will never feel good again.

The guys I've dated since the divorce have all hurt me in some way or have been "losers" - more proof to me that I really screwed up.

I guess I'm just hoping someone can help me in some way. I hate the depressed side of myself. I feel so overwhelmed by it right now.

Thanks for reading.

I would suggest seeing a counselor. They can help you sort things out, and can be a great option. Weight loss surgery won't cure/solve depression, but not dealing with what you're feeling right now CAN sabotage your weight loss post-op.

Well...chickie....we make decisions sometimes that we sometimes regret...but the one thing is you need to evaluate your life before you get the surgery and I am glad you do have time to figure things out. You do not want to do this when you are already struggling with life issues as it can make them seem even worse...GOOD LUCK!