Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

hi all!

i am an american spouse married to a military member and i am new to the uk. i am wanting to get the vsg done here, and could use any and ALL information. i am thinking that i will go somewhere in london (since that seems to be the closest place to us) to get the surgery done, but i honestly, have no idea where to start! any and all help would be appreciated! :thumbup: lisa

Hey Leelee,

I went to my doctor first, he then refered me via the NHS and I was refused cos I was too healthy and didn't weigh enough, yea righto, I then sourced the surgery privately and had to pay. I don't regret it at all!

Go to your doc first and see what they say... I live in Wales and it is a little different here... good luck and let me know what they say! =]

Hi leelee I assume you have the medical insurance via the military ? It will work a bit different for you. I doubt the NHS will do it if you aren't a permanent resident - unless your spouse is British. Never the less if you are entitled to NHS treatment it certainly wont hurt for you to go see an NHS doc.

You should still see your doc and see what they recommend you do. If they wont approve you there are several private companies here in the UK to do it.

I've lived here for 5 years going on 6 now (I'm a fellow American) and I love it here.

Hey Peffermintchili...

didn't realise that you were in the UK... up north!! Glad you like it... =]

Hi all, Thanks!