Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

popcorn

I'm concerned after reading a post on another forum about eating popcorn post-op. I'm 6.5 weeks out & I've had popcorn on several occassions (including yesterday). I honestly never thought about it not being good for me or possibly getting stuck in my staple line.

Should I be concerned at this point? Would I be having trouble if something was wrong. Now I'm worrying about it! :)

It's my understanding that once you start on solid foods you are supposed to be able to eat anything you would have before, just less of it -- that we have a fully functional stomach, just a smaller one than before. So seems to me that you should be allowed to eat popcorn at 6.5 weeks as you are on solids. I am not an expert or a doctor, but it also seems to me that if you were going to have problems, you would have had them by now.

Quit worrying - quit borrowing trouble - worrying is just wasted energy - worrying changes nothing -- spend your energy on something positive!

:) I confess...I'm a chronic worrier! I can't help myself. My dh says I search for things to worry about. Perhaps he is right.

Vegas, thanks. I thought the same thing...once on solids I should be able to eat whatever I can tolerate. That's why I didn't give it a second thought. I've emailed Gaby to be sure, though. :)

Okay, now what can I worry about? :lol0:

so you emailed Gaby to be sure - but you didn't give it a second thought huh? :)

Seriously Jenn - what good does worrying do - does it change anything? It only makes you miserable from the worry - and those around you suffer as well. The best piece of advice I was given, years ago - and I remember this when I start to regress is: "DON'T WORRY ABOUT THOSE THINGS WHICH YOU CAN NOT CONTROL" (Yes, you can control eating popcorn; however, you worry about things that you can't control or change - so why worry about them?)