Jump to content
×
Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

sandi_022

Gastric Sleeve Patients
  • Content Count

    121
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About sandi_022

  • Rank
    Expert Member
  • Birthday 07/29/1984

About Me

  • Gender
    Female
  • City
    Saline
  • State
    Michigan
  • Zip Code
    48176
I wouldn't say I have much of a story. I have always been over weight. I eventually got used to being teased in Highschool. After being in soccer, and in track, i still weighted about 180 lbs. when i graduated highschool, i got the freshman 15 in college, but then I gained more. My dad died 3 days after my 19th bday, and i just packed the pounds on after that. I moved out of my parents house, and got a 3rd shift job at a casino as a cashier. All i ended up doing with my life was sleeping, eating, and working. I couldn't hackle working 3rd shift, and i was getting sick all the time. since i could barelly keep my eyes open.... i gained even more weight. I currently stand at 260 lbs. I also didn't get asthma until after I graduated highschool. And my family has a history of thyroid issues. I decided on getting the lapband surgery about 2 years ago. My ins company at the time covered the surgery 100%. I was still under my moms insurance at the time. Unfortunately, she quit where she was working (nurse at the hospital doing the surgery). The ins I had was making me go through weight management for 1 year before i was able to get the surgery. Unfortunately, i didn't get it done in time. I then got a different insurance through my step dad. BCBS. they told me I had to go through the weight management for 6 months. Well, my step dad left that job, and along with it went the insurance. My current ins will only cover the doctor, not where the surgery is going to be done. I have decided to look into going to Mexico for my surgery. it will be way cheaper, and so far i've only heard great things from people getting their lapband done there.

Age: 35
Height: 5 feet 6 inches
Starting Weight: 263 lbs
Weight on Day of Surgery: 258 lbs
Current Weight: 195 lbs
Goal Weight: 135 lbs
Weight Lost: 68 lbs
BMI: 31.5
Surgery: Gastric Sleeve
Surgery Status: Post Surgery
First Dr. Visit: 07/18/2007
Surgery Date: 04/08/2015
Hospital Stay: 1 Day
Surgery Funding: Insurance
Insurance Outcome: 1st Letter Approval
×