Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Left Upper Quadrant Abdominal Pain-? Port Pain

I am 3 weeks post op and experiencing pretty severe left side pain. It is intermittent and worse with movement. I am a nurse and I don't think my port is infected. I don't have a fever, no redness at my port site, and no pain with palpation of the port, but the pain starts at my port site and radiates around my left side. Has anyone else experienced this? Thanks

I had radiating pain from the port site but mine moved upwards toward my stomach (My port is above and to the right of belly button,). The pain happened around the same time-3 weeks in. At the time I was told that it was normal and was due to the healing of the abdominal muscles where the port and tubing was stitched. Hope you feel better soon.

I had it around four weeks out, but had also started doing abdominal exercises around the same time. The doctor assumed that mine was due to the exercises and asked me to back off for a little while longer.

The pain diminished gradually, but it did have the feel of muscle soreness and an occasional sharp pulling feel. It went away completely within a couple of weeks.

If I shake up my abdominal routine now, which I do from time to time, I still get an occasional twinge in this spot but I recover quickly.

What does your doctor say about it?

Get this....I called my doc this morning because it was hurting so bad I was crying. His nurse tells me that when she had her "Boob job" that the scar tissue hurt and thats probably all it is but if it's not better next week to call and make an appointment. I don't think a breast augmentation and a lap band surgery are similar....lol! It has gotten better since the day has progressed, it feels like it did the first day post op, just sore with the pulling sensation. Hopefully it will go away soon.