Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Question about work????

So I am 3 days away from being banded and I was just Curious????

How long before everyone went back to work and what type of work do you do???? :thumbup:

Thanks

I was banded on Friday 8/29 and back at school (I'm a student) on 9/2 (Tues) ... but it would've been nice if I could've taken longer. I wasn't really sore etc but I only got Clear Liquids (no Protein Shakes even) the 1st week, and it was hard to focus. I didn't FEEL bad, but, shall we say, I wasn't firing on all pistons! LOL

Hi Brandie,

I had surgery on a Wednesday (8/27/08) and went back to work the following Tuesday. I would have probably gone back on Monday, but that was Labor Day. I am a CPA/auditor and had no problem going back to work 6 days post-op. I was a little wiped out after the first day back, but was back in the full swing of things by day #2. Hardly missed a beat!

Good luck to you. I had a VERY good experience with surgery (no pain at all) and I wish you the same.

I am a dog groomer .

I had surgery on a Wed and was approved to go back to work that Monday. I chose to take 7 days to baby myself. I do lift 40 to 40 lbs once in a while.

Good Luck,

edie

I work as a unit clerk on a busy surgical unit. I do a lot of sitting but I'm up and down and walking probably about six times an hour. I went back after 2 weeks and I wished I hadn't, my surgeon's PA told me to take off a month. I was so incredibly sore. My surgery was a little more complex and involved because my surgeon took 2 hours just to take down the adhesions from around my stomach. Recovery is totally individual. There was a man that had surgery the same day as me and he told me he was back to work 2 days later.

Realistically, I'd plan for a good week if you aren't anticipating any complications.