Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi my name is Marie and I am new to group. I am currently 1week and four days into my 1 month preop liquid diet and the struggle is real. I don't feel hungry .I just want to eat some food. I am counting the days down until my September 16th surgery date. I am anxious excited nervous and scared somewhat, After talking with my sister today ( who has had the surgery years ago) she is the one I thought would be the most supportive. She has me thinking that I shouldn't be so excited about my preop appointment and my upcoming surgery. I am almost second guessing myself, more nervous about the process ..I do understand this is a major surgery and maybe that's what she thought I wasn't taking it seriously... looking for any advice or support ????

Hi Marie! Hang in there. If you have done your research and ready to make this change and have surgery, then just focus on that. It is nice that your sister is showing concern for you, but it is counterproductive. Do what you think is best for yourself. I am fortunate to have a co-worker who went through this who is super supportive. She did hers about 2-3 years ago. Her husband is having surgery the same day as me. My husband is TRYING to be supportive, but he doesn't want me to do it. I say "too bad". My body, my life. I want to take back my health before I have anymore weight related complications. Hang in there!