Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

January 2019 Surgery Date

Hi. I'm a Newbie.

My gastric sleeve surgery is scheduled for January 2nd.

I started the process in May @ 307 lbs (5'7"), and so far have lost 30 lbs with eating modification & exercise.

Currently, my exercise consists of weight training and some walking. Having torn meniscus in both knees doesn't permit a lot of walking.

For years I used to be an avid gym freak years ago, but shoulder and foot injuries/surgeries, along with personal circumstances had put a damper on that for some time.

While I'm looking forward to the surgery and a new beginning, my biggest cause for anxiety is the resulting loose skin. I carry a lot of muscle mass right now, and I'm concerned that the fat loss, and the muscle loss of not working out, will exasperate the situation. I'm aware that loose skin comes with the territory, but does anyone have any advise on how to minimize it?

Thanks for your support,

Johnny B.

Hi, Johnny! Congratulations! My surgery date is five days after yours and I can absolutely relate when it comes to your anxiety. I went to support group the other night and they brought up the subject that when you lose massive amounts of weight you also lose muscle mass and that when you’re at a lower weight you will feel weaker because you don’t have that weight behind you helping you anymore. It make me a little nervous to know that my legs (the body part that I love and work out the most) are going to inevitably get weaker.

8 hours ago, jessicaalyssa said: