Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi all! This is my first post as I am in the very beginning stages of my weight loss journey! I am almost positive that I will be approved for surgery, as my BMI is 41 and I know that my insurance covers it. I am hoping to have gastric bypass done, however I am concerned about the amount of time that I’ll have to take off of work. I currently work in a hospital as an emergency room technician. I know that most people are out of work for a couple weeks at most, however my job consists of a lot of heavy lifting! I am always transferring patients, pushing stretchers and wheelchairs, lifting people, etc. I am in a financially comfortable place at the moment, however I’m concerned that I will not be if I have to take a month off of work! Are there any other healthcare professionals out there who have been through this? Just wondering what kind of weight restrictions you had to deal with. I will obviously be talking this through with my surgeon, but I wanted to ask the peanut gallery as well 😉

My surgeon said not to lift more than 10 lbs for 6 weeks post-gastric bypass. And time off work for me was 2 weeks but I have a desk job and was able to work remotely week 3. You may need to take 4 weeks off due to the physicality of your job.

On 06/23/2018 at 22:20, MarinaGirl said:

My surgeon said not to lift more than 10 lbs for 6 weeks post-gastric bypass. And time off work for me was 2 weeks but I have a desk job and was able to work remotely week 3. You may need to take 4 weeks off due to the physicality of your job.

Bummer!! That’s what I was afraid of lol. I will be so bored if I’m stuck at home for a month 😳

I practice physical therapy and we have to be able to lift a minimum of 50lbs. I didn’t go back until week four but my place of work habe me an assistant and only high level patients. They were very accommodating.