Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

recomendations for Tijuana? (packing/flight)

I've been dancing around gastric surgery for ten years and after two separate insurance companies having it excluded from their plans, I decided to take the plunge into self pay. I'm scheduling my surgery this coming Friday, and if all goes as we hope, it will be in early October with Dr Illan. . My husband is staying home with our 17 month old, so I'll be coming and getting the surgery done alone. We thought about all three of us coming, but weren't sure how well that would go down with our kid.

To make it easier on me, I'm just bringing everything in a carry-on bag. I know I don't need alot, but I was wondering if there was anything you wish you had brought, but didnt? I've already seen where someone recommended to bring a sweater, and someone else said gas-x/pepto. I am just trying to make sure that I don't forget anything.

Also: Did you have to buy two airline seats? I've heard plus size people complain about it before, but I have no idea if it will be necessary for me or not... The last time I was on a flight, I was just a kid. So if you could tell me a height/weight if you DID have to buy two tickets, it would be greatly appreciated. I'm 5"6 and a size 24 if that helps any.

One last question: How functional were you when you got home? I've had my gallbladder removed previously, and the incisions look the same as far as size and location for my gallbladder surgery. I wonder if that meant I could expect as easy as a recovery? Not that surgery is fun to recover from, but my gallbladder was certainly an easier recovery than my c-section was.

Thanks for answering if you did! I'm probably going to be blowing up the forums a bit once I actually reserve the date next weekend.