Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

First Appointment Tomorrow!

Hello!

I have finished the mandatory classes, got approved, and am booked to meet with Dr. Quilici tomorrow at 2pm in Burbank! I struggled with weight my entire life, so I've decided on the RNY. 5'1" and the highest weight in my life is 285lbs in my early 40's. I am now 46 and weigh 268lbs have chronic lower back pain (congenital), HBP, and have hypothyroidism. I am on day 1 of my pre-op liquid diet. My lowest ever adult weight was 112lbs and that was in my late 20's to mid 30's and was not a diet any nutritionist would approve :wacko:. I'm a teacher on summer vacation and was hoping to have the surgery well before school starts so that I can recover in relative comfort, but it looks as though I may not be able to do that and that will have only a week to recover. I can complete a lot of my classroom set up before the surgery, but I'm now wondering if I should prepare to have a sub start the year (which is not ideal and starts the year off on a bad foot). Any teachers out there who have had this surgery with suggestions or advice?

My surgeons kept saying - everyone is different - you'll just have to wait and see. But for me...

I work in education (administration) and went back PART-TIME after two weeks. It was tough. I wish I had done another full week home. The surgery is no joke - but the postop diet is the hard part. I was not in pain, but had no energy. I would suggest getting a sub - just in case. :)

Ok. I'm going to prepare sub lesson plans just in case. The first few days of school require a lot of energy and I don't want to chance it. Thank you!!!!

go ahead and do it. it's not like you're diggin ditches or anything...