Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi everyone! My name is Kerri, I am 24 years old and I live in a small town in central Maine. Just to share a bit about myself and my situation... I have been overweight since I started grade school, and have been put on numerous diets and exercise plans to lose weight. I graduated high school in 2001, and shortly there after I gained 60lbs. I have a huge family history of heart attack, diabetes, arthritis, hypertension, and so on... I have tried several diets through my adult years, some successful, but the pounds eventually creep back on.

I have been waiting for full time status with my job for over 2 years now so I could sign up for insurance and try to get the lap band. This is something I have been looking into for a long time, and at this point I feel is the best option for me. So far I have been to the mandatory seminar put on by Maine General Hospital. Also my PCP has agreed to the referral. (yay!!) Before the referral would be accepted, we learned that I needed a current physical and blood lab done. I have my appt. for the blood lab Monday Sept. 17th, then the physical on Monday Sept. 24th. I was really frustrated to get appointments for September, as my previous appointment to get the referral was August 13.. I feel like now the ball is rolling (slowly.. but it is rolling:), and I am soooo excited the appointments are here so I can have my referral sent out. The surgeon that I will be meeting with is Dr. Huy Trieu MD, from Maine General Hospital in Augusta, Maine. Hopefully things go smoothly from here on out *crossing my fingers* and I can get in soon with the bariatric center, and get things going!!

I am on here often, and look forward to meeting you all, I think this site is wonderful!

~Kerri