Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

:hungry:My lap band surgery is August 13. I was suppose to start my pre-op diet Monday and I was traveling back from Fla. I ate lunch and nothing else. Tuesday I did my admitting (upper Gi, EKG etc). When I left at 2:00 I was so hungry I stopped and got a huge salad. Today I drank my Protein Drink and I want SOMETHING to eat. I am suppose to have 2 Protein Drinks and 1 Healthy Choice. Can I eat celery, carrrots, tuna to get me through?

Please help me.:help:

When I did my pre-op diet I too struggled with being hungry so I chose to have a slim-fast at 8, 12, 4, 8. on day 1, 3, 5, etc. Then on the other days I'd have a slim-fast at 8, 12, 4, and a salad after 6 or so.

If I did not have 4 slim fasts then I'd die of hungar. For some reason the 4 meals helped me feel more full and drink as much Water or crystal light as you possibly can- this will also help with the hungar.

I'm not an expert but if you can break the snacking/munching habbit now- it will make it much easier after the band. I'm 8 weeks post op and I eat four smaller meals a day and it seems to do much better for me.

Guest ZenGarden

Aww, I feel for you guys. I was lucky in that my surgeon did not require any pre-op diet. My suggestion is just to drink fluids in between your 'meals' to try and keep your tummy satisfied.

Best of luck and congrats on surgery!

I don't see why you couldn't have those things you mentioned. Carrots are high in carbs though, and carbs set off the hungry feeling. tuna is Protein, and protein stops hunger. I 'd skip the carrots and eat the tuna and green Beans or brocolli.