Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Pouch stretching??

Hi,

I have seen several references to "pouch stretching". Because I have not had success with the band, I am very curious as to what this is, how it happens, how can you tell if you have it, and what can be done? Why would food not come UP rather than one's pouch stretch? Thanks for any info.

Sultana

Hi Sultana. I am pretty new to all of this myself. I am curious why you dont think you have been succesful ? I am concerned about streching my esophagus after a support meeting I went to last night. I never have had any productive burping. I have been banded for only 7 weeks. But it seems to me that pouch streching might be a slow process as pbing would be more a quick response. Juat my thoughts,,,Sorry I am not so much help. Best wishes...Janie :)

Sorry I have no answers either. I responded so that I'll be notified when others reply with answers because this is something I always wondered. Thanks.

"POUCH STRETCHING" The entire stomach is made up of cells that stretch easily. So when you eat the muscle wall of the stomach will stretch to meet what is placed inside of it. The top pouch that is made when we are banded can stretch over time to allow more food to be ingested or held in the pouch. This is a normal process and people that have NOT been banded can have a stretched stomach as well. IT is not a medical emergency to be treated. Over time and with less consumption the stomach will decrease in size. The stoma created from the banding will not change unless you have a fill or unfill. Does this all make sense?