Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Need Advice On A Bicycle

Is anybody familiar with this bike? I'm wondering if it's worth it.... I've got an opportunity to get one for $675. But that's still about $500 more than I've ever spent on a bike before.

I need something that is compact because I'm a truck driver and will be storing it in the passenger side floorboard.

Uh....what bike?

I've got 6 bikes. I've got a Dahon folding bike that folds up and fits in a suitcase. Is that something like what you're looking for?

post-45614-138136702328_thumb.jpg

post-17584-13813659619672_thumb.jpg

http://www.montaguebikes.com/paratrooper-folding-military-bike.html

That is the one I am offered the deal on. It's a Paratrooper Montague.

I was looking at Dahons. But anything that I liked was WAY out of my price range.

TBH. Even this one is pretty pricey to me. But, then again I was looking at these on eBay and they seem to hold value pretty well.

The folded size is about 4-5" longer and taller than a dahon, or comparable 20" wheel bike, but that's not too bad considering it has 26" wheels. The components seem to be good quality for the price. Plus you can use it for recon missions (according to the website). I've seen guys riding these on century rides, once they changed out the tires to something with a little less knobby tread.

If the fold up size fits your needs then I would say go for it. If you want smaller, there are alot of used Dahons on eBay. I have the P8. The boardwalk is another good all around bike.

Honestly, the best bike is the one you will ride regularly. I noticed last night the Academy near me is selling mountain bike shorts with the crotch pad (chamois). If you are gonna ride more than 5 miles at a time, it's a great investment.

I think the first thing I'll be looking at is a different seat. I bought a much less expensive bike a few years ago, I think I rode it maybe 1/2 mile and my butt was killing me.