Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I am considering getting the sleeve done and am just wondering how many of you regret the surgery? I woke up in the middle of the night last night thinking what an absurd idea it is to cut out a perfectly good stomach just so I can lose weight. However, I woke up this morning thinking that its not such a bad idea. I have been overweight for most of my life and I just don't want to spend the rest of my life overweight. I've been dieting on and off for over 25 years without much success but yet getting the sleeve seems so drastic! Do any of you think that it was too drastic and regret having it done?

I regret not doing it when I was 22!! And actually the sleeve wasn't around back then-- so none whatsoever. I have never been happier. I love my sleeve

This very question is asked almost weekly here on the forum. Most respondents will say NO REGRETS - other than the obvious one of NOT DOING IT SOONER. Most ALL people have a good response form the surgery and accomplish a goal that was impossible to achieve on their own. I include my self in this group.

That being said there are a few people that have complications, some even dreadful and you will hear of an occasional death. THIS IS TRUE FOR ANY SURGERY, no mater how minor. I know of someone who was related to a person who developed a sever tooth abscess and after the tooth was pulled they could not get a handle on the infection. Despite IV antibiotics in the hospital the infection spread, hit their heart and a few days later they died - from a lousy tooth infection. EVERYTHING carries risk, the VSG is no exception.