Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

When to exercise?

How soon after the surgery should/can you start exercising? I work as a medical courier and am in and out of my van all day going into and out of hospitals and doctors offices. So I do get some exercise with that, but would you suggest more? Anything in particular? What has worked best for some of you post-bandsters out there?

To quote from http://thinforlife.med.nyu.edu/faq.html#work:

"Using a laparoscopic technique for bariatric surgery has the advantage of allowing you to return to daily activities much faster than if you had the standard open incision. Healing of smaller incisions is faster with less pain, and has a lower risk for the development of hernias. Therefore, we encourage you to exercise as soon as you feel ready, and this can be as early as one week. Some people have returned to work on the 4th day after surgery, however, most patients find that they need 1 or 2 weeks before going back to work. You may feel tired during the first week, but you will feel more energetic as you lose weight. "

I was told that I could exercise after one week but I should not do sit ups or weight lifting for 4 weeks.

Hi Larry,

I started working out again at 1 week postop.

I did a lot of walking and very light weights. At about 6 weeks postop is when I started to get more indepth with my workouts. I can't really remember, but I don't think I did traditional ab workouts in the beginning because my port really bothered me. That took about 6 months before I really started focusing on that area.

I was banded a few months ago and watched a lot of weight come off effortlessly! I am ashamed to admit that I didn't start exercising until just this week! I don't think my weight loss will continue to come off as easily without some help from me in the form of exercise!! So three cheers for the treadmill!