Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Hi everyone, I'm new :)

Hello Twenties!

I've actually been reading the message boards for a while now but this is my first time posting. I'm 21 years old I'll be 22 in june, and I am considering having the lap band done. I've done so many diets, even had a personal trainer, and lost some weight but not a significant amount. I weigh 187 lbs, and my goal weight, according to the charts, is between 115-123. My dad had he surgery done on the 17th of december and has lost almost 30 pounds since then. I want to have it done, but at the same time I keep telling myself i could lose it on my own, yet ive tried so many times but just cant seem to discipline myself.i know that this is not the easy way out, i just feel it would force me to be disciplined. its hard..i was wondering if anyone could give me their opinion on whether or not i should do it, or things to expect..anything like that, i would really appreciate it.

i came to the decision to get banded after i sat down and made a list of all the times i tried to lose weight. after seeing on paper the years i spent trying to get in shape and failing i realized i didnt want to waste any more time being overweight.

everyone is different and everyone has a different experience, and its a personal choice - maybe you could speak to the surgeon your father used, it might help you make up your mind when you hear what they have to say.

Hi There!

I too am considering the surgery. It's something I really want and need. If I can just use the surgery as a tool I know I'll be able to make progress and feel good about myself. My biggest concern/worry is that I won't qualify for the surgery. I am going to see my primary care doctor on 3/9! That day can't come soon enough. I have no idea what her reaction will be which makes me so nervous!