Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Pain at left rib cage area

I have been banded for six months. I first noticed this uncomfortable feeling in my left rib area after surgery when I put my leg up to shave. It's the area right below where my bra sits. If I straighten out my posture or body it seems to go away. I cut all the wires from my underwire bra and still find myself moving my bra off my skin in that area. It's not painful, just uncomfortable sometimes. My port is a few inches away from the "mystery" area.

I don't have a problem with reflux. Do other people experience this? I find myself often straightening up my posture and moving my bra. Weird. What is it?

6 month picture Dr V.bmp

*disclaimer - I am not a medical professional, and I may be completely wrong*

Does the pain seem to be coming from on top of your ribcage, or under it? Could you possibly be feeling the tubing??? Not the port or the band itself, but the tube that connects the two?

The feeling is right at the edge of my rib cage. From the center of my body at the bra line. It is 2 1/2-3" down and 2 1/2-3" to the left. Maybe something is swollen in the area? I sneeze daily and they are usually pretty forceful. I don't know if something is slightly out of place???? Is it normal to feel like something is in there at times when you move certain ways?

I sneeze pretty hard several times a day, and I can't say I've ever felt anything besides my port if I feel anything at all. Maybe someone else who has experienced something similar can chime in with their ideas about it.

I'm curious to know what the cause is, though.

I don't feel the "uncomfortable" feeling when I sneeze. It's usually when my posture is bad or I'm sitting down. Any comments are appreciated. Thanks Travelgirl