Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Diet & Dumping...and maybe ovarian cancer

I have been a little MIA for a while trying to finish up my final graduate school classes-and I finally graduated!

In the midst of the last year I've had some regain and trying to lose it. i'm also dealing with a ball out of left field- a possible cancer diagnosis. I have had a very persistent ovarian cyst for about 15 months. I've changed forms of birth control during that time and the thing has grown and shrunk multiple times. My Ob-Gyn has been very appropriate, following the ACOG rules and seeing me every few months and doing many MANY ultrasounds. Now it's changing and I'm having some strange symptoms that she (nor I) will dismiss- and Friday I had a CA-125 blood test.

Because I'm a nurse and going through Nurse Practitioner education right now I have access to very professional scientific databases of research. The research has shown over and over that a Ketogenic diet seems to show great results in various types of cancer treatment. This has to do with the fact that insulin/glucose cycle feeds tumors and on a Keto approach you drop your glucose intake and stabilize insulin resistance...

So today i'm doing some cooking and tomorrow the hubs and I will embark on a full blown Keto journey. i'm a bit nervous because without a gall bladder i'm sure i'll have some dumping syndrome, but in any case my doctor ALSO fully endorsed this approach when I saw her-which I was happy about (since many doctors look at you with glazed eyes when you mention any change in eating). I know that many bariatric folks don't do keto but this is much more than a weight loss attempt right now- it could be my life on the line...

Thank you for letting me ramble. I would just like to ask each of you-regardless of which religious/spiritual approach you take, to please pray for me/send me positive thoughts,vibes, etc. I really need them and will update as I know more in the next 2 weeks.