Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

I am very new to this app. However I am in the 6 month waiting period before I am schedule to have surgery. I have a lot of questions.

1) how long will it take insurance to actually approve my claim

2) how long will it take surgery to be scheduled once I am approved?

3) I have to do a 2 week liquid diet pre-Op how successful was anyone with that?

My surgery took about a month and everything was approved and they gave me my surgery and pre-op appt right away, my insurance is Aetna better health, and I'm in Chicago will be going to Loyola, Maywood for my surgery. My pre-op appt is on June 8th, my surgery date is June 21st, I only have to do one week of liquid diet, everything depends on your doctors and insurance and I will try to keep you posted.

Sent from my N9519 using BariatricPal mobile app

I think the answers to each of those questions varies depending on your insurance and what kind of Bariatric coverage they offer if any. My insurance covers Bariatric surgery so I had to do a 6 month weight loss program. Then they submitted and authorization to my insurance to have a consultation with the surgeon. Once I met with the surgeon and we chose which surgery I would have I then got a list of required medical testing I had to complete plus a class that was required by my insurance. Once all of that was finished I had to submit another claim to get the actual surgery authorized which it was. I started this process last August and I am scheduled for surgery June 13. It could have been sooner, around April, but I pushed it back. As far as a pre op diet goes, most surgeons do require a 2 week pre op diet but they aren't always 2 weeks of liquids only. Mine is 2 weeks of liquids for Breakfast and lunch and dinner is a sensible meal. And then the 48 hours prior to surgery are liquids only. Like I said, most experiences will vary but that's mine and I hope it helped you a bit!