Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

WOW- a glimpse into why others have left!

I just read a thread over on the 'POST surgery' forum about POP. a newbie post related to drinking soda after surgery, a vet answered them and got herself torn sideways from the OP.

I feel bad because this person was QUITE obviously trying to only help, and give adequate information. For example, the OP carried on about their 'pouch' and stretching it.

The vet simply responded that a sleeve is not the same as a RNY pouch and that it really can't be stretched according to anatomical make up. Well, so much for trying to help! When I was a NOOB i was so happy to get good advice from the vets. in fact, that is how I learned the majority of the information that I needed pre-op. Obviously the other newbies couldn't give me advice based on experience, but the vets then were SO helpful (that includes many people on this forum).

So building off the other thread related to vets leaving, I look at this and totally understand why some vets have left....

Yep, I can't believe how snarky some of the posts have become!! There is an old saying, "Ask me no questions and I'll tell you no lies!" When a question is asked, most reasonable, people assume that a straight answer will be given! Better not to ask questions!! I accept brutal honesty!!

I guess I was just SO thankful when I was new, to get any good answers from vets. I looked at them-and still do- as an invaluable resource! I felt bad for the responder! Of course there was much discussion about the 'pouch stretch'.

I WANTED to chime in that although with a sleeve there is no actual stretch, drinking pop CAN lead to a lot of regain- like it did with me. but, i didn't respond at all.

Meh. After almost 3 years on this forum, I'm used to it by now ;)