Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Just getting started in Richmond

Hey all.... I am in the Richmond area and I am just starting out on my lapband journey. I am scheduled for an informational seminar on Oct. 4. I have done lots of reading and feel I am already pretty well educated and I want this SOOOO bad. I was wondering if anyone has any information to share about the Richmond Surgical Group or Dr. Brengman? Would you recommend anyone else instead and why? I spoke with my Insurance Co. and I really dont think I am going to have any problems obtaining approval. I hope I am not getting my hopes up to soon because I could never afford this without the insurance. Anyways... I enjoy reading on this site. I'm hoping I can bump into someone in my area. Any weight loss I have acheived in the past I have done best with lots of support. I'm looking forward to hearing from anyone with any info!!!

Hi momato3

Congrats on your big decision. I am getting banded in 8 days by Dr Brengman at St Marys. Dr Brengman is great. Just be warned that it is not a fast process. I started my testing and classes back in May and my surgery date is Sept 27th. I got really frustrated because I wanted it done yesterday!! That was totally unrealistic. But even though the wait was long, it was all worth it and I am so excited about the banding. I am on my pre op diet right now and it's actually doable. I have been on it for 7 days and lost 7 pounds. :car: The staff is really nice and the nurses take a lot of time with you and make you feel comfortable.

Keep in touch and I will let you know how my surgery goes.

God Bless

Mary