Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Blue Cross Blue Shield Ins

Hi! I'm a newbie to the forum. Two more nutrition appointments to go, everything else has been done. We have BCBS of IL insurance through my husband's employer, but we live in NY. Can anyone tell me, will the approval process go through our local Excellus BCBS or IL? Does anyone have experience with either? Just wondering how long it takes on avg to get approved from the time everything is submitted. Thanks!

I am not sure, but years ago I had BCBS of MN through my employment even though I lived in the state of WA. All my claims went through BCBS of MN. Have you recently moved? Perhaps your husband's employer is big like mine was and just purchases all their policies through BCBS of IL. You should have something that tells you - your id card?

Thank you so much for your responses! I didn't mean to be rude, I couldn't find this thread to get back to you! So, according to BCBSIL, it will go through them for approval. Just the billing will be handled by my local insurance. But you go by the benefit of the actual insurance you carry, so I only have to follow the requirements for BCBSIL's medical policy. Which I am so excited for, because the requirements aren't as strict as Excellus BCBS (in Western NY) ;)

that is great! hope everything goes smoothly. When my paperwork was submitted to BCBS they approved really quickly (less than a week). Hope that is the same for you. Good luck!

Thank you so much! And great job on your weight loss! 60 lbs since Oct is amazing :)

you need to call them & get them to send it to you on paper. I had called them 4 or 5 times

& each time they told me all I needed was a recommendation from pcp. then I finished all

the other things for the surgeon & paper work was submitted the came backing wanting

diet (6 month) details & dates. I had ask them about the diet on each phone call & they

said none was required. I had bcbsm ins.

Edited by Bigfuzzy