Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Did you tell people that you were having lap band surgery ?  

1 member has voted

1. 1. Did you tell people that you were having lap band surgery ?

• Yes
    • No
    • Only family

Hello EVERYONE !

My name is Megan, and i am a 3rd year pre-med student in college who just had gastric band surgery on Wednesday 4/4/07. :clap2: I had my surgery at Celebration Hospital in Orlando. Dr.Marma was my preforming surgeon. My surgery went well and my recovery has been good too. Well accept for the lackthereof Bowel Movements . . . :) But im really not sure what im going to do in class tomorrow. I have classes tomorrow from 7am - 3pm straight, what can i tell people as an excuse for missing classes last week and wearing sweatpants for 2 days ?

HI,

Good luck on your banding....and I am so glad you have this opportunity at a young age. I have roller coastered for most of my 52 years.

I have told most people that know me at work etc I got banded....I have to clarify with them the fact I will not pick up anything heavy for the 6 week period. I am not going to ruin my investment.

Share what feels right for you!!!

Congrats on banding!

As for telling.. only tell what and who you feel comfortable with. I would mention to you teachers in private so that they know what is going on and will work with you if need be.

I have only told my direct boss, close family and the 3 ladies that I trust and carpool with. Others are asking why I am taking off and what am I doing and I just say "not much".. I figure when I return to work and it will be obvious that I did more then "not much" that I will just say I had adbominal surgery. Most of the folks I work with I am not close to so that will get the message across that I don't plan on telling them.

Good Luck!