Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Really hope I can have ny surgery at end of October first week of November I'm a supervisor in major retail store an need to be back to work for crazy black Friday n holidays :)

4 weeks out then working Black Friday that's insane and really hopeful. Not to be negative or anything lol

4 weeks out then working Black Friday that's insane and really hopeful. Not to be negative or anything lol

I really think so they said I only had to be out 2 weeks I'm not going to pick up heavy stuff but will be on feet 8 hours n walking all over store doing things that's why I'm worried bout getting my Water n protien in

I was out two weeks and could've gone back after one. It's possible for it to work for you but try to be prepared for the unexpected, just in case. I work in a bank. When I went back to work I was on my feet all day, though not walking a lot on the job. I wasn't tired and had no problems, aside from a few food-related mishaps as I learned.

To prepare for your return to work, walk as much as possible during your recovery at home. Walking helps you feel better and it will increase you stamina when you return to work. Lots of short walks each day are good, not necessarily walking miles all at once. My doctor recommended climbing stairs also. Don't overdo it. When you return to work try to take more frequent short breaks to rest and drink, and a longer break every four hours to eat some sort of Protein. Don't try new foods at work and don't eat fast - both will result in a painful, miserable time period during which you will be of no use to anybody. Chew your food well, or better yet, make those first meals on your busy days yogurt, pea Soup, Protein shakes (ready made like Atkins), sf pudding w/added Protein powder, or puréed chili. The activity is good for you but it's critical that you stay hydrated, eat protein-rich, and rest as needed. And don't forget those vitamins!