Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Anyone with PCOS? And/or BMI <35?

I am 30 years old with a BMI of 34. If I decide to go through with the surgery I will be a self pay. Even though I'm not technically overweight enough to have a lapband I feel as though I need to take drastic measures. My mom had a heart attack at 38, has diabetes which has led to kidney disease. She is now only 48 and in poor health. I have a 2 year old and don't want to leave her early. I have the typical apple shape, like my mom, and am borderlining pre-diabetes myself. The other big issue is that I have PCOS and I never have a period on my own. My daughter was conceived after 3 IVF's. Recently, I attempted to have my frozen embyos transferred but none of them survived the thaw and I have decided to not go through anymore rounds of IVF. Can anyone relate to my situation who has a band? Anyone out there had a BMI of <35 and if so what have you results been like? I have never met anyone in the same boat as I when it comes to all this... so any info would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.:help:

Hi...

I was diagnoised with PCOS IN 2003, as well as Pre-diabetes. Once diagnoised, I was put on birth control and metformin. I look forward to losing the weight that I believe has caused both of these illnesses. According to both my doctor and surgeon, by losing weight I will greatly increase the chance of prengancy once I am ready. I was also told that back in 2003 but I didn't act on it. I guess as all my friends are getting married and having children, I just hope that it isn't too late. I have not been banded yet, but I will on 2/13. I hope and pray, that I will be able to stick with the plan to health and living.

I wish you the best as you decide what will be best for you..

HI Eloo,