Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Good, Bad and the Ugly

Hello All! I'm new to this thread and so excited that I have found this community. I need some advise. I have been considering the lap band since October of last year. I actually went through he entire process only to chicken out the day before surgery. I'm 32 years old and have been struggling with PCOS for years and my weight has been in the up mode, to lose one pound takes so much work. So once again the lap band has come to mind and I going back to the office to start the process all over again. I interested in some feedback from anyone out there that may have PCOS and how the lapband prceducre has been GOOD, BAD and UGLY for them. Even if you don't have PCOS, any information you can provide me with would me a great help. I have done a lot of research on my own, no doctor has recommeded it for me, but I think it may be the best for me. I want to have kids one day and I know that this diease is holdinng up the process.

Thank you all in advance for sharing your experices and suggestions that you may have for me as I begen to take this journey to a healther me. :)

I have PCOS too. I have been taking 1000 mil of Glucophage a day for about 9 years. Not a diabetic, It really helps regulate my period. I use to have one 14-16 week period every 4-5 years. In December my regular Dr said since I had lost so much weight (all together 167lbs., 88 since LB surgery in April 2010) he thought I should stop taking the glucophage. I did and a week later Bam! Here comes Aunt Flow for about 4 days....went away for about a week and back for another week, then gone...then back for a few days. This went on for three months....I made an appt with my regular dr. and told him...I get this stuff at Wal-Mart, a 90 day supply for $10 if there are no major side affects I want it!!!....He put me back on it about a month ago and I have had no problems since.