Jump to content
×
Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

rnsamantha

Gastric Sleeve Patients
  • Content Count

    583
  • Joined

  • Last visited

4 Followers

About rnsamantha

  • Rank
    Aspiring Evangelist

About Me

  • Gender
    Female
  • City
    Gilbert
  • State
    AZ

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

I am a 34 year old mother of 2 busy boys ages 4 and 6. I was a normal size throughout childhood and adolescence, but have been overweight/obese since the age of 18. It seems with each passing year another 5-10 or more pounds get added. I know I can lose weight, but I can't lose the 90 lbs that I need to without help. I feel like I have been gaining and losing the same 10-30 lbs for the last 4 years and with each loss, it seems to come back with an additional 5 lbs. I am worried for the future if I keep in this pattern. Both my parents have diabetes and hypertension and I do not want to end up with the same conditions. I feel overwhelmed by the amount of weight I need to lose to achieve a healthy weight which is why I am seeking a permanent weight loss solution with a gastric sleeve. Although I am apprehensive about surgery (I've never had any type of surgery), I am more afraid of chronic illness, living with chronic pain, and seeing the number on the scale rise with each passing year. I know it won't be easy, and I realize that I will be permanently changing my dietary habits. I feel ready for this change, and more optimistic about my future if I can have the surgery. I am currently in month 5 or a 6 month supervised diet and exercise program and hoping that my insurance company will approve me ASAP!

Height: 5 feet 9 inches
Starting Weight: 278 lbs
Weight on Day of Surgery: 259 lbs
Current Weight: 173 lbs
Goal Weight: 175 lbs
Weight Lost: 105 lbs
BMI: 25.5
Surgery: Gastric Sleeve
Surgery Status: Pre Surgery
First Dr. Visit:
Surgery Date: 06/25/2015
Hospital Stay: n/a
Surgery Funding: Insurance
Insurance Outcome: 1st Letter Approval
×