Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Available Lap Band Buddy / Mentor 1 Year Post-Op

I am a 32 year female from Michigan who is 1 year post-op. I had my surgery in Mexico by Dr. Ariel Ortiz.

Pre-Surgery I was 235, 5'3.5". I am currently weighing in at 163. I am 23 pounds from goal.

I am a mother of 2 small children, ages 3 and 5. I work part time in retail for some adult conversation.

I believe there are 3 components to successful band surgery:

1) A good surgeon (and aftercare surgeon, if needed). You need a surgeon who you have good rapport with. Someone who encourages you in the way YOU need. A doctor who is realistic with you. A doctor who puts you on a fill schedule that is conducive to YOUR weight loss goals.

2) A Good support system. You MUST have people to cheer you on in your journey. You have to have people who 'keep it real' and will 'call you on it' if they see you not putting effort into your journey.

3) The right attitude. You MUST go into band surgery well researched, ready to make the adjustments necessary, and ready for accomplishments as well as disappointments. You will NOT lose your weight in a miraculous nature. It WILL be slower than you life sometime. But you must keep the mindset that this is not a diet, but a complete change in lifestyle.

Wow! You were banded almost exactlly a year before me and your results are amazing!! Wasn't Dr. Ortiz great? Loved him and the OCC. I'm not going to go back for my aftercare as I have found someone locally who accepts patients banded in Mexico. I'm still on the full liquid diet (and tiring of it quickly!) but feel so hopeful for the future.

Your advice is right on. I totally agree. I hope to have such wonderful results in a year. You're an inspiration!!