Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Lap band - more fluid, less restriction

Hello, newbie here...

I’ve had my lap band since 2005! Everything was all good, until I moved to a new state a year ago, went to a new dr a few weeks to have a fill to kickstart additional weight loss (gained weight due to new job, new state, new house, new to Cajun food-lol, liquid calories); the dr added Fluid (was at 2.75/4cc band, made Fluid 3.0) now I feel no restriction at all! I came back 2 days later, he took all the fluid back out which was all present and no leak was indicated, and added more fluid (now 3.25), and still no restriction! He said give it a few days, I feel no difference, my previous experiences are that I feel instant restriction after a fill. I definitely felt more restriction at 2.75cc, I had that amount in for almost 3 years before seeing this new dr a few weeks ago. Since he performed the film under fluoroscope he insists that everything went in. A couple of days ago I asked him to perform a swallow study with barium, he is typically very responsive but I’ve heard nothing yet. I’ll give him time to respond but if my band isn’t leaking, and I feel very little restriction with more fluid, where could the fluid be? In a pocket in the port?

I was hoping to get tightened before the holiday to prevent excess eating, now I’ve done the complete opposite, I’m so disappointed. Any advice appreciated, thanks...

All our bodies react differently with the band.

For me if I have more than 1 cc then have a tremendous amount of acid reflux. So after years of trying to put in more Fluid for more restriction I have learned that 1 cc is my limit and not to try any more.

Fluid Intake is another key I almost never drink with my meal or drink anything prior and after my meals for 20 minutes.

Otherwise it seem that I can eat forever when I drink with my meals

For me I need to go to bed by 9pm because I tend to eat late at night.