Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Gall bladder issues after sleeve

Hello everyone. I'm new to this page but happened upon it doing research. I'm coming up on my year after surgery. My question is I still have my gall bladder and I'm wondering if some of my symptoms are due to this and not just life after the surgery. My Dr did a test prior to the surgery to test my gall bladder and everything was fine so he left it in. I'm having issues after eating like pain and nausea. I just assumed it was still an adjustment thing as I've heard this will happen for the first year but then i remembered him testing my gall bladder so wondering if others have some input. I have my year check up with dietician and surgeon next week so i will definitely be asking at that time but wondered what you guys thought.

It could be, most of the issues come from the rapid weight loss. A lot of programs use Ursidol to help prevent gal stones. It can help with small ones if they formed too. They should be able to see if anything is going on fairly easily. You're definitely going to be at a higher risk of it given the large weight loss you're going through.

My gallbladder started acting up at around 6-7 months post op. I had a scan and they found no gall stones but the pain persisted. They followed up by ordering me a Hida Scan and that determined my gallbladder was not functioning properly. I'm currently 13 months post op and scheduled to have my gallbladder out 2/16

For folks who had gallbladder issues what were your initial symptoms?

Hello,

I had my gallbladder out 3 weeks ago. I am coming up on 14 months post op.

I started having pain about 6 months ago that sent me to the ER NUMEROUS times. They always said Constipation pain, which had been a SERIOUS daily problem for me for several months, until 3 weeks ago, when I had my gallbladder taken out. Now I have regular, daily bm's.