Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Self Pay, Hernia, and Complication Questions!

Hi all,

I'm new to the process, so I was hoping to see if y'all could help me with a few questions.

1) My insurance requires 6 months of documented weight loss, but not only would the end of the 6 months be an inconvenient time for me to get surgery as I'm a student, but it would also be a really long time to wait. I started on this in March, but skipped the last two appointments because I was having doubts about surgery the longer I had to wait. My parents have offered to pay for the surgery out of pocket, and I would be able to get it done in a couple of months after I have been able to learn more about the process (nutrition pre and post surgery, what I need to do after, etc) and it will be at a more convenient time for me. What do you guys think about this? I feel like if my insurance will cover it that I should wait, but that is so much time to talk myself out of it. I want this change, but I'm the type of person who goes back and forth on everything if I have a lot of time to think about something. Anyone else have this experience?

2) With self pay, what happens if you have complications? If this happened to you, did insurance cover the cost of complications? I will contact my insurance about this at some point, but I wanted to get a feel for what others have experienced.

3) I also need to get a hernia repaired that the surgeon said he would do during my gastric sleeve surgery. Can I submit the hernia part for insurance coverage if I do self pay for the actual sleeve part? Again, I will contact my insurance, but I just wanted to see what others have experienced.

Thanks for any insight!