Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Exercise gadgets

I just wanted to start a thread to see what kind of technology everyone is using to keep track of their exercise routines. I am only one week out of my banding, and haven't got clearance for a full workout yet, but I am going to look like a cyborg when I walk out of the dressing room at the gym.

Here's what I am going to be using.

1. Body Bugg http://www.bodybugg.com- I have been using this for the past several months. It's a little pricey to get started with, but it's a great tool for keeping track of caloried burned both at the gym and during my everyday routine. It connects to the web and updates all my information to my online profile.

2. Nike +iPod- I bought this just before my surgery, so I haven't had a chance to try it out yet, but I am excited to use it. By itself, it's basically a step/distance tracker that will also upload your information to your online profile. Itunes has some very interesting workouts that you can download for it though. In addition to upbeat workout music, the download also includes a workout coach. I bought a treadmill workout, and the coach is the lead singer of OK GO, the band that made the really cool video of the band dancing on a treadmill.

3. Polar heart rate monitor- As useful as all of the previous two items are, I still wanted to be able to monitor my heart rate while I'm at the gym. I bought a Polar brand heart rate monitor. They have several different models.

So does anyone else have any techno-gadgets they are using to facilitate their weight loss?