Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Preop: Which Meal To Replace W/ Shake?

I'm just beginning my process and would like to start developing some good habits before surgery. I would like to start replacing a meal with a Protein shake several times a week.

- Which meal would y'all suggest?

- Where do I shop for Protein shakes?

- Any good "tricks"?

- Anything I should stay away from that will be "bad" post-surgery?

Any advice is very much appreciated! Thanks! :D

The Protein shakes are all different, I started in November replacing Breakfast every day with Pure Protein 100% whey Protein Frosty chocolate, which is about $28.00 for a huge tub of it. My son and I both used it daily. You can also try some of the ones at GNC which are a little higher.

I never ate Breakfast before.

I just posted some tips and tricks earlier on a thread called Pre-preop and here's a link.

http://www.verticalsleevetalk.com/topic/40110-pre-preop-diet/page__p__356831#entry356831

It has helped me tremendously and I'm sure there are other great tips.

For pre-op, I did shakes for breakfast and lunch with a lean and green dinner. I was working out and would get hungry in between meals, so my Dr said it was ok to have a shake for a "snack". It worked for me.

Pre-surgery, I used powdered Protein from Vitamin Shoppe. Combined with yogurt and berries, they were great. But then post-op, they were terrible. Couldn't stomach them. I tried a few powders and some ready to drink (RTD) varieties and settled on Premier Protein from costco. They are $25 for a case of chocolate or vanilla. In my neck of the woods right now, costco has a coupon for $5 off a case, so I'm stocking up. They are great.

Best tricks ... hmmm ...