Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

Nsv - First Family Dinner

I am a good cook and as the self-appointed matriarch of the family have always loved to put on big family dinners. Some of my major concerns pre-surgery were that I might somehow develop an aversion to food or the smell of food, and that I might no longer like or want to keep up the family dinner traditions given that I would be limited in partaking thereof. Along comes Mother's Day, 8 weeks out...

We traditionally have the first big cookout of the year on Mother's Day, with all the kids and grandkids in attendance. We prepared the traditonal list of grilled goodies, such as cheeseburgers, hot dogs, brats with all the fixins' such as chili sauce, kraut, corn on the cob, mac & cheese, baked Beans, and most glorious of all... two homemade New York cheesecakes with raspberry coulis!! So darn good!!

The Victory is that I enjoyed cooking and serving just as much as I ever did. I ate a bite or two or most things (skipped the corn on the cob and the green salad, and left off the buns), including the cheesecake. It was a major relief to sail through the first event and still feel normal! Looks like Thanksgiving is still a go!

No one commented on the small amount I ate, but they did notice the weight loss!

The Victory is that I enjoyed cooking and serving just as much as I ever did. I ate a bite or two or most things (skipped the corn on the cob and the green salad, and left off the buns), including the cheesecake. It was a major relief to sail through the first event and still feel normal! Looks like Thanksgiving is still a go!

No one commented on the small amount I ate, but they did notice the weight loss!

kyllfalcon

congrats girlfriend, job well done.