Are you looking for the BariatricPal Store? Go now!

"Cottage Doubles" by Breakstone

I'm just starting out mushies and picked up a few "Cottage Doubles" which is cottage cheese w/ a fruit topping (I don't eat the big chunks). Since practically everything I read is all about "no sugar" I'm wondering if I should be avoiding these.

Calories: 130

Saturated Fat: 1.5g

Total Carb: 17g

Sugars: 15g

Protein: 11g

The above stats are for the strawberry flavor. I ate 1/2 of it for lunch and finished up the other half for dinner.

Can anyone provide feedback on that carb/sugar count? My NUT didn't give me any guidelines other than "if you eat anything w/ carbs, make sure it has a good amount of Protein in it." In addition, pretty much all my food suggestions are sugar-free (I'm not diabetic) so I'm not sure if I should be avoiding these.

Thanks in advance!

For my guidelines, that is way too many carbs and sugar. But, not everyone consider fruits as carbs like I did. A carb was a carb for me, and I just didn't have room for them. For me, if the Protein count wasn't 4-5 times the amount of carbs, I didn't eat it during my losing stage. You could maybe mix in the sugar free coffee syrups, or some sugar-free Jello or pudding powder packets to avoid the carbs, but still get good flavor in cottage cheese.

I wasn't diabetic either, but I did all sugar free and as low on the carbs as I could get during my losing stage. It's what worked for me. Plus, I had read that our bodies will burn those sugars instead of the fat and eating sugar could spur cravings. You'll probably get different replies because everyone kind of does what works for them, but for me, these would have been a "no go" only because the carbs outnumber the Protein grams.

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

• Trending Products

• Trending Topics